Had my iron infusion!

18 Dec
20131218-164800.jpg

Dad asked if I wanted a photo for my blog before he went back to work so here it is! 😀

Hey readers,

Just got home from having the day in hospital for my iron (cosmofer) infusion. To start with I had a weaker dose for an hour, then had an hour break and was monitored. If you’ve never had an iron infusion before, like me, they give you the weaker dose to start with to see how your body reacts to the iron itself and almost weaning you on to it, as oppose to giving you the stronger, full dose all in one at a faster infusion rate.

My first dose: looks like watered down Coca-Cola!

My first dose: looks like watered down Coca-Cola!

I only experienced a few symptoms mildly; a drop in my blood pressure, developed a bit of a high temperature and felt a bit light headed but these soon wore off after I’d been taken off the first infusion within about 15 minutes. For somebody of my age, the nurse said it was expected to have a drop in blood pressure and that this is what happens with a lot of infusions of different medications.

20131218-205317.jpg

The second dose.

After that I had the stronger dose which took about an hour and forty-fiveminutes to infuse then half an hours observation afterwards. I felt a lot better on this one, despite being a bit apprehensive about it after feeling a side effects with the weaker one. I had a joke with the nurse that it looked like she had poured the Coca-Cola that I was drinking into the infusion solution bag and that I was going to keep telling myself it was Cola to take my mind off it 😀 As I understand it, the infusion rate is dependent on factors such as your weight, how your body reacts to the treatment and whether you have had it before or not.  Throughout the infusion, they also check your blood pressure, pulse and temperature; usually in half-hour intervals. From my experience, you can also eat and drink as normal throughout and I did not have to fast or anything to prepare for it. The only thing it required was to stop taking iron tablets five days before the infusion, but I wasn’t on them anyway myself.

I’m feeling a bit like I’m on another planet at the moment and exhausted but hopefully the infusion will start to work in the near future. I’ve been a bit clammy and had a bit of stomach ache and a temperature and have had a few dozes on the sofa tonight!

Best wishes from Amy & Stacey Stoma x x

4 Responses to “Had my iron infusion!”

  1. Daniel Bennett December 18, 2013 at 5:00 pm #

    Just curious if you know how much iron they did, I’ve now had 2 infusions. One at my local in 2010 which was done over an hour + 1 hr obs. And one just over a week ago at St Marks which took 15mins + 15mins obs – got the same again in February. I’m not even sure what the dosage difference was between the 2 lol.

    • staceystoma December 18, 2013 at 5:24 pm #

      I’m not sure Daniel, sorry! I just let them get on with it haha! I’m guessing the longer it takes the bigger the infusion but couldn’t hazard a guess at the dosage. Think it’s worked out in relation to body weight.

      http://www.cosmofer.com/product/about-cosmofer/dosing-and-administration.aspx#total-dose-infusion
      Give that a read about dosages, might help 🙂

      • Daniel Bennett December 18, 2013 at 5:31 pm #

        Had a feeling it was weight related and this one looked smaller than my previous – perhaps split into 2. Also I think maybe as I had no reaction to a previous one I had it quicker/less obs this time.

      • staceystoma December 18, 2013 at 6:35 pm #

        Yeah they tend to increase the infusion rate the more you have them I understand.

Leave a comment