Craving salt.

26 Aug

Specifically more recently, I have found that I crave for ready salted crisps and a lot more extra salt on my food than normal. I’ve even found myself dipping my finger in salt granules left on my plate and having those!

From what I’ve been told, I know that craving salt for ostomates is something quite a few people experience because of the absence of the colon. From what I understand of this, the fact that we have no colon means that absorption of essential nutrients/salts etc and proper hydration is difficult to maintain as foods are passing through us at a faster pace than those with their large bowels intact, therefore absorption is considerably less.

Never before have I been a big fan of crisps, but recently I find myself craving a bag of ready salted every night and add salt to whatever food I can.

I also try to drink sports drinks loaded with electrolytes especially if I feel dehydrated to make up for those that my body has lost, as dehydration is easier to reach and in a faster time than normal people for ostomates.

I thought I’d do a post on this as I know I’m not alone and it’ll probably help other people having the same experience know they are not alone either 🙂

Best wishes,

Amy & Stacey Stoma xx

12 Responses to “Craving salt.”

  1. Jo Jo Ward August 27, 2013 at 4:51 pm #

    Ive had these cravings before – always believe your body will tell you what it needs, also I was warned by the doctors about starting a family, we do not absorb folic acid and need to be very careful before we get pregnant, not a very well known fact either xx

    • staceystoma August 27, 2013 at 9:52 pm #

      Thanks for your comment Jo Jo 🙂
      I’ll remember that 🙂

  2. Jennifer Shaw August 27, 2013 at 7:28 pm #

    Strangely enough, so do I. Only last night my husband opened some salted peanuts and I said ooooh I fancy salt! I have recently had 15 inches of my sigmoid colon removed. Your journey of your life since you had your operation is an inspiration to us all.

    • staceystoma August 27, 2013 at 9:52 pm #

      Jennifer, I can’t stop craving it!
      Thank you for your comment, really made me smile 🙂

  3. Jo Jo Ward August 27, 2013 at 10:04 pm #

    PS give your doggies from a fellow greyhound owner I hope they are keeping you smiling 🙂

  4. Jo Jo Ward August 27, 2013 at 10:05 pm #

    I meant to put cuddle lol

  5. Jo Jo Ward August 28, 2013 at 5:27 pm #

    I wish more people had the love of the hounds 🙂 xx

  6. Chef Red Hawk October 10, 2013 at 11:05 pm #

    I am happy that I am not only one who have some cravings for salty and sweet snacks. Sometime, I will have my body instinct telling me what I really need like some fruits with high potassium contents or something salty. Sometime, my body will tell me to drink more liquid with good contents of electrolytes. I usually made sure that I stock enough snacks and electrolytes in case. I never know when it will come unannounced. Sometime I will munch something from my forbidden food or bad for my stoma.
    Right now, I am munching on “beernut” salty and sweet peanuts–I always called it since peanuts are coated with sweet and salty stuff. Very tasty. Very good one. .

    • staceystoma November 16, 2013 at 1:33 am #

      Thanks for your comment! I do drink a lot of sports drinks with extra electrolytes, but peanuts I haven’t tried and are usually advised against for ostomates from my experience. I’m glad they are good for you though and your body!

  7. Jazy December 30, 2013 at 6:38 pm #

    hahaha thanks for this post! at first, i thought i was crazy for craving salt 24/7 but now i understand why :O btw, i LOVE your blog girl. reading it has helped me so much as i’ve had major insecurities, especially your awesome fashion advice! xx

    • staceystoma December 30, 2013 at 7:29 pm #

      You’re welcome! I’m glad you like my blog 🙂 I don’t crave as much salt anymore!

Leave a Reply

