Bag odour.

21 Aug

Hey readers, I hope you’re all doing well & I send hugs & wishes to those of you going through a tough time at the moment.

I’ve decided to do a post on bag odour as I know it is an issue which effects every ostomate at some point or another, some more than others. 

Personally, I find that there are certain foods in particular that give me bad odour and sometimes a lot of wind too, but with foods I haven’t tried it is always trial and error really. 

The main foods I can think of that give me odour are Fish, Eggs, Mince, Indian Food, foods with a lot of flavour enhancers in and I’m sure a few more will come to mind as I eat in my daily life. Fish & eggs are the worst, and I also find that green vegetables and onions tend to give me more wind than most foods. Fish literally smells like it did before I ate it, as do eggs (sorry if too much information!) so if anyone else has this, then you are not alone! I’ve gone off fish since this happened last time as it took about three days for the smell to shift fully from my bowel, not the most pleasant of smells. 

I have found a great product that works for getting rid of odour which you place within your bag. This is particularly handy for when I’m staying away, on nights out and going out and using public toilets if I’m paranoid about leaving a smell in the toilet. I use an ostomy deodorant called No-Roma by Salts Healthcare, which you can buy in two sizes; a big 227ml bottle which I usually leave by the toilet at home or take away if I’m going to be away for more than a few nights, and a small 28ml bottle which is perfect for carrying around with my spare stoma supplies in my handbag on a daily basis. The deodorant itself does not have a fragrance, but seems to work by acting on the odour-producing bacteria (as explained in the Salts product guide). You simply add one or two drops of the deodorant into the bag, via the outlet which you use when emptying your bag, before going out and when out and you come to empty your bag so you have odour protection until you empty your bag the next time. I find the product very effective and it has made my life so much easier and given me a lot more confidence about going out with my bag and using public toilets.

Image

The dogs & me.

Today, I have been into town with my brother then we spent some time relaxing in the garden with our dogs; Bobby & Daisy. I wore my stoma vest with a tight fit vest top over that and some jeans. My stoma vest allows me to feel confident to wear the clothes I love to wear.

Best wishes until next time!

Amy & Stacey Stoma x x

 

5 Responses to “Bag odour.”

  1. Jennifer Shaw August 21, 2013 at 6:05 pm #

    Such a lovely photo of you and your dogs, you look very happy! Such good information to give your fellow sufferers as well. Keep happy!

  2. Michael Wood August 22, 2013 at 9:58 am #

    I have an ileostomy and eat curry because I like it and find spicy food helps settle my stomach if I have problems. I know this sounds counter intuitive but it works for me. I think a lot of trouble is due to cooking methods. I make my own curry and start by dry roasting the spices then grinding before frying. Many people with normal plumbing get problems with curry but, honestly, not ever from one of mine cooked my way.

    Please don’t give up on fish. Simple rule – fresh fish does not smell if it does it’s not fresh. It also does not smell when cooking. Try this James Beard recipe and see if it puts fish back in your diet.

    Grind a teaspoon of fennel seed, salt crystals and peppercorns. Heat the grill. Put a sea bass fillet on tin foil rub with butter or olive oil and sprinkle the spice mixture lightly all over. (You can store any excess in a jar) Grill and enjoy with new potatoes and carrots. I have this at least once a week and promise you it does not smell.

    Oh yes – the other problem with fish is that almost all of it is overcooked. Beard recommended the Canadian method which is really simple. Measure the fish at it’s thickest point (Not the length) and cook it exactly 10 minutes per inch (so half inch 5 minutes). It does not matter what method (Grill, bake, poach) this works perfectly PROVIDED you have preheated and start from the correct temperature.

  3. David Wood August 23, 2013 at 11:35 am #

    Just wonder if you been offered irrigation as alternative to a bag ? Best thing I ever did !

    Allows 24-48 hours free of bags though actual emptying is foul !

    • staceystoma August 25, 2013 at 4:09 pm #

      No David, but I know what it is.

      I’m happy with mine the way it is, doesn’t cause me any issues, but thanks for your comment 🙂

Leave a Reply

