Happy 2 years Stacey Stoma!

9 Aug

So 2 years ago today Stacey was created!

Wow what a journey it has been, it has been the hardest journey of my life but I’d do it all again to feel how I do now.

It would have also been my Uncle’s 50th today, and thanks to him, his journey with Ulcerative Colitis and his own experience of having a stoma, I was less scared and had the courage to go through with my operation. He will always be such an inspiration to me. Sleep tight Uncle Graham ♥♥

I’ll do a post in a lot more detail soon about how far I’ve come, the ups and downs and other aspects of living with a stoma for 2 years and how you get used to it, but for now I thought I’d post some pictures from just after my operation and now.

Image

My stomach when it was swollen with my abscess before my operation, my stomach a few hours after, picture from my colonoscopy before showing the extent of the disease, cannula in A & E and pics from immediately after and soon after my operation.

Image

“Now you see me, now you don’t.” 🙂
Ostomism not Pessimism 🙂 Me today on my 2nd Stomaversary 🙂

Hope my readers are well & I’ll post soon! Thank you for all the comments & lovely e-mails I’ve been receiving recently too!

Best Wishes from Amy & Stacey Stoma xx

6 Responses to “Happy 2 years Stacey Stoma!”

  1. flowry August 10, 2013 at 3:42 am #

    Love your outfit and Happy 2 Years!!

  2. Jennifer Shaw August 10, 2013 at 9:03 am #

    Great to hear you are feeling so well! I am so happy for you! X

  3. Nancy August 17, 2013 at 12:51 am #

    I love your blog and you are quite the inspiration to me! I am a mom of 2 teens who was diagnosed with colo-rectal cancer in January 2013 After much chemo/radiation (yuck) had my surgery in June so now I am cancer free (woohoo). I have a temporary illeostomy while my jpouch heals and I can sooo relate to your stoma blog. I have cried, laughed and shared you with my kids! We have pets too and find they can really warm your heart on those rough days and nights. Again, I am so glad I found your blog. While I can’t say I have named my stoma, I’m getting ideas! Its so noisy sometimes I do find myself talking to it. I can even look at it now when I change my bag ;-0 . Just hang in there – you have such tenacity and spirit (far beyound your years)- so you will not only succeed, but you will flourish!

    • staceystoma August 19, 2013 at 12:53 pm #

      Hi Nancy,

      Thank you for your comment! Wow that is fab that you are cancer free, you go girl! I am glad my blog has helped you, really makes me feel warm inside and happy to know.

Leave a Reply

