My dogs & an update on the past few weeks.

9 Jul

Been chilling in the garden today enjoying the weather & thought I’d post some pictures of our gorgeous dogs; Bobby & Daisy. They are both greyhounds; Bobby is the fawn colour and Daisy the brindle colour 🙂 When I am ill or upset they always know something is wrong and come to see me or lay on the floor looking sad and they are so quiet and lovely natured. Mum even brought them to the hospital doors to see me when I was an inpatient.

998711_10151696659084255_335279344_n

Next Tuesday I have a barium meal x-ray to go to. I saw my surgeon and another member of the Gastroenterology team the week before last & they want to make sure I have got no active disease or narrowings above my stoma as I have been getting a lot of pain with stomach aches and off my appetite when stressed. I suffer a lot with stress & anxiety, it has always been a big factor for me throughout my life with IBD. When I say I suffer, I mean it affects my day to day life in a big way. If there’s any pressure on me to do things or I’m in new environments without a lot of support or understanding I break down. I ended up taking myself to the doctors a few weeks ago with it because my emotions have been terrible and I’ve been quite down and felt unable to cope with a lot of things going on in my life and I’ve been put back on my anti-depressants with the view to up the dose in a few weeks if I feel no better. Everything seems a mess at the moment and I’m stuck in a rut so to speak, not sure where my life is going or what to do with my career options etc and it all just seems to have spiraled.

On a more positive note, it’s my Dad’s birthday tomorrow so Happy Birthday to you Dad for tomorrow! 🙂 We are having a takeaway tonight with my Auntie as part of it.

My Dad & I :)

My Dad & I 🙂

I hope all my readers are well & thanks for reading.

Best wishes from Amy & Stacey Stoma 🙂 xx

4 Responses to “My dogs & an update on the past few weeks.”

  1. stomagirl July 9, 2013 at 8:09 pm #

    You know I am just a message away if you ever need to talk xx – Gemma

  2. Jennifer Shaw July 10, 2013 at 9:36 pm #

    Sorry to hear you not too good at the moment Amy, stress and anxiety are awful to contend with. Have you tried reflexology at all or reiki treatment. At various times in my life I too have suffered stress and anxiety and still do, along with very bad IBS now diagnosed as diverticular disease. I have found both the above treatments to be beneficial, calming the mind and feeling more able to cope with stressful situations. I am scheduled for my resection op on 23rd July. You have given me a huge amount of inspiration to be positive about my terrible diverticulitis episodes, when you have coped, at such a young age with so much pain and suffering but still able to stay strong. I don’t know until I have the op whether I will have to have a stoma or not, obviously I hope I don’t, but after reading your blog I am more prepared for this. I hope your barium meal x ray goes ok and you get sorted. Stay strong Amy, there will be light at the end of the tunnel. Xx

  3. Jo Jo Ward July 11, 2013 at 6:13 am #

    So sorry to hear that you are still having difficulty with your stoma, on a lighter note we have to Greyhounds called Marty and Maizie, they are the most sensitive souls and I know that if im feeling down they always manage to cheer you up.

    I know things look bad at the moment, but this will pass and everything become clear again, but there is no rush take one day at a time xxx

  4. Julie July 17, 2013 at 11:19 am #

    I’m sorry to hear you are struggling. Hang in there Amy. don’t be too hard on yourself. Jo Jo is right “this to shall pass” And in the meantime seems you have your priorities straight. Enjoying the garden, the fresh air, your dogs, and your family. That is the stuff that makes life great! Keep smiling

Leave a Reply

