First day of Summer 2013

31 May

That’s tomorrow πŸ™‚

I don’t really know where to start or what to write as it’s been a while, a long while!

Health wise, my Crohn’s is in remission and the latest blood tests show my inflammation markers are normal. My iron levels are slightly low, they are at 8 when they should be 15, but the doctor said this doesn’t quite class me as anaemic. I’ve got some Spatone sachets to try to mix with juice etc as I don’t get on overly well with iron tablets. I seem to remember having those sachets before and not being a big fan, but going to try again as I really want to have the best chance of having good health altogether and good energy levels. Haven’t seen my consultant for sometime with one thing and another and not being in one place, so I’m seeing him towards the end of June hopefully for a review. The doctor on the phone who gave me my blood results explained that because I’ve had an ileostomy formed, and therefore have a shorter bowel than a person without, this is most likely the reason why I always have trouble with my iron levels and find it hard to absorb iron and keep a constant level within my body.

Thank you for all your comments & to my readers who have supported me & always do with this blog no matter how much of a gap I go between posting. It’s been fantastic & really heart-warming to see the amount of people still visiting, reading and benefiting from this.

Best wishes.

Amy & Stacey Stoma πŸ™‚ xx

12 Responses to “First day of Summer 2013”

  1. John Ingamells May 31, 2013 at 11:26 pm #

    hj there, its really good to see you are in some sort of remission and being able to concentrate on living life. On the subject of your iron levels and anemia, do you have vitamin B12 injections as a matter of course?
    I had my first re-section in 1976 and have had B12 injections since. Also, regarding iron deficiency, I am also very prone to anemia and cannot tolerate oral iron. My consultant arranges for regular iron infusions on a medical day unit. They take around 4 hours and really help. Perhaps this could be something your consultant might consider for you. It’s worth asking. Take care, so pleased to see you are okay and in remission.

    • staceystoma June 3, 2013 at 5:27 pm #

      Hi John,
      Thanks for your comment. I have asked about Vitamin B12 injections and I am not a candidate for them at the moment. I am taking Spatone sachets every other day at the moment mixed with orange juice to help them absorb and they seem to be alright so far.

  2. Jennifer Shaw June 1, 2013 at 7:30 am #

    So good to know that you are feeling relatively good considering all you have gone through. I first read about you about 3 weeks ago and it brought tears to my eyes to think one so young as you suffering so much. I am just a young 60 year old and have suffered irritable bowels most of my life but now they are worse and in the last year have suffered 2 severe bouts of diverticulitis, last year resulting in a perforation. I had a colonoscopy ct scan yesterday and on Monday will see my Consultant as to the results and my treatment. I am almost sure an operation will be suggested and I am obviously a bit scared. However, your inspirational blog has been so informative to me and would like to thank you for making time to record your passage of events from having your operation and ongoing support since then. I too have very good Consultant who I have every faith in and hope, if an operation is undertaken, it will be successful and like you I will be able to enjoy life again, without the anxiety of always having to be near a toilet. To go on the tube again into London, go tothe theatre, to see Billy Joel once more, walks in the Lake District, oh to live again and enjoy healthy times with my grand daughter and new grandchild to be! I hope you continue to be well and enjoy the summer. I hope your studies are going well.

    • staceystoma June 3, 2013 at 5:26 pm #

      Thank you Jennifer for your comment! πŸ™‚
      Do not hesitate to contact me on my e-mail address: amyrobson09@gmail.com if you have any questions or need to talk πŸ™‚

  3. Stephen Dempster June 1, 2013 at 1:43 pm #

    Glad to see you back, and in remission. You have been missed <<<>>> πŸ™‚

  4. Julie June 3, 2013 at 4:33 pm #

    Hi Amy, it is good to have an update from you. Like Jennifer I admire your courage and you are an inspiration to us all suffering from this illness. I have not yet had a full iliostomy but have had much of my bowel removed and have issues with anemia. Like John for years I take b12 injections. In fact doing it myself once a week. Also there is a great medical food (drink) specifically developed for Crohns patients that do not absorb minerals, enzymes and vitamins. It is called InflamX 360 by Metagenics. http://www.metagenics.com

    I want to thank you for sharing your story. I am supposed to have surgery again but so far I resist. I am afraid but soon I will have no choice, my bowel is closing up with so many
    fistulas soon it will be blocked completely. I live on juice and soft foods only… I want to eat again. I have short bowel syndrome and the surgery and recovery is such an unknown. I have learned how to live with my condition as it is, I am in pain but not severely sick as I have been in previous years. Yet to go thru what you have done, with the stoma is such an unknown experience for me, I fear I will not recover. I don’t know that I have the courage and strength that you do. Have you and Stacy Stoma become better acquainted? Do you get along well these days? I am sorry to ask so many questions… But I found your blog a few months ago when the doctor told me this is what is likely ahead for me. Your story touched my heart. I have lived with this horrible disease for 23 years. Had several resections, nearly died. I was already a Young Mom and I faced many challenges along the way. But I am happy to say that I lived a full life. I love my children and I am now a grandma. But to go thru what you have with the process of recovery is something I dont believe i can do it on my own, at my age… I laugh cuz I am sure I sound old, but am only 47 but I am so tired and feel 90.

    Thanks again for your blog, I am happy to know how you are doing. Please keep us posted. And talk to your consultant about those items for better nutrition and energy. Good luck. Regards, Julie

    • staceystoma June 3, 2013 at 6:27 pm #

      Hi Julie,
      Thanks for your lovely comment, it’s really heart-warming what you said.
      I am taking Spatone at the moment but will check that out, thank you!

      I can understand why you may resist and have your reservations about surgery but I can honestly tell you from the bottom of my heart I am 110% pleased with the decision I made to have mine. Of course, everyone is different, but I know people who, like me, have gone from having zero quality of life to actually being able to have a life without worrying about toilet stops, pain, what to eat, accidents etc. I can totally understand that what your diet consists of cannot be much fun, that is one of the best things about having a stoma. I remember after my op, as I gradually could try more foods, how amazing it felt and how incredible it is to look forward to meals and enjoy foods now. I think a lot of it is in the mindset when it comes to recovery, obviously besides other things; if you tell yourself you will recover and the strong will to recover is there, you will, even if it’s very much a case of two steps forward and one step back for a good while and you wonder if you’ll ever recover. The answer is, you do! πŸ™‚ And it gets better, miles better.

      Stacey and I are fine 99.9% of days! Like every other ostomate, I have my days where I wish I hadn’t had to go through all the bother and pain and upset, but that’s natural. The way I see it, she gave me the gift of life, as clichΓ© as that may sound!
      If you need to ask any more questions, just feel free to drop me a message at: amyrobson09@gmail.com πŸ™‚

      Take care.
      x

      • Julie June 3, 2013 at 10:32 pm #

        Amy, thank you for your kind and caring and encouraging words. Be proud of yourself, you are not only brave but full of compassion. I will see the surgeon and keep in touch with you. Thanks again and so good to know you are doing well. Julie

      • staceystoma June 3, 2013 at 10:48 pm #

        You’re welcome!
        Please do that, that’d be great πŸ™‚
        If I can help at all in anyway just let me know
        Amy & Stacey Stoma xx

  5. Julie June 5, 2013 at 7:14 am #

    Hi amy it always gd to read your blog and what others r going through all the best

Leave a Reply

