Oh hi 8 stone! We finally meet again… This time without steroids.

19 Dec

Wahoooo! So I’ve just been on the scales and I’m finally at the 8 stone mark, without any steroids or medication for my Crohn’s! Really pleased.

I have always struggled with my weight, as most people with IBD do & have always struggled to keep it stabilised and put weight on, especially without steroid intervention and other nasty side effects.

The most I’ve ever weighed was around 8 and a half/9 stone, so this for me is quite an achievement. Also, considering I was barely 5 stone just over a year ago before and after my operation, I’d say a 3 stone gain is good going! My family and a few of my IBD friends have said to me how it’s rare to hear a woman complaining about not being able to put on weight instead of lose it, and that’s very reflective of my struggle. I have never wanted to lose weight, it is a dream to actually wear size 8 jeans without a belt and lots of baggy material literally hanging off me. Of course, I used to get the obnoxious people as you do in life, who used to assume I was starving myself and I was anorexic, but then again, just shows how naive and horribly judgemental some people can be. That’s a major thing with our society today; everyone’s too busy jumping to conclusions from what they see, or what they’ve heard, rather than making an informed judgement based on the true facts. Something my Dad always says to me, which has become a bit of a laugh and in-joke, is that when you’re dealing with anything in life, you have to be pragmatic about the situation. As much as we have a laugh that it’s pretty much become my Dad’s catchphrase (one of many!), I feel there is a great deal of truth in that statement in life.

I still get people telling me I’m skinny at the moment, but to be honest, I’m content with the weight I am. Yes, I am not large and I am thin and small framed, but that is who I am and probably who I will always be, that’s pretty much inevitable. People don’t realise how, especially when you’re having a down day, comments like that can hurt, but I’m learning to just remember how far I’ve come, feel pleased in myself and smile. I know the people who have been with me for any length of time in my long journey with IBD are proud of me, and that’s all that matters. My phenomenal family and my lovely and supportive friend, Sophie have been my rock through the bad times recently and not so recently. I have a great deal of time and love for them. Also, my support group that I run with my friend Meg, is just fab, everyone is so friendly and encouraging and we always manage to have a giggle!

If I don’t post before then, I hope 2013 brings you health, happiness and lots of good things! I’m sure hoping it is the year for me…about time please! 🙂

Best wishes & seasons greetings!

Amy & Stacey Stoma x x

2 Responses to “Oh hi 8 stone! We finally meet again… This time without steroids.”

  1. john ingamells December 19, 2012 at 11:45 pm #

    rxcellent newsyou are at a good weight. first got crohns in 1976 aged 14, always struggled to put weight on, though a little different as a guy, steroids and then azathiaprine helped add weight on. immune system then damaged and had to stop azathiaprine. have a great christmas and new year.

  2. Julie April 29, 2013 at 3:38 am #

    Amy I recently came across your posts and want to thank you for your courage and heartfelt words….and your Dads catchphrase… Be pragmatic. Wise man you are lucky to have your family’s support. I have had Crohns disease for 23 years and I meet many incredibly naive and horribly judge mental people. We cant let them hurt us.

    As I said I found your posts… And I am wondering how you are feeling…I hope you are doing well. Your words here and in your other posts remind me of myself and my experiences and feelings over the years. I am however older, I did not get sick until my early 20’s. I was already a mom. My life has taken quit a journey and one day I hope I can express it in words as well as you have here. You are truly an inspirational young lady. I hope you will write again to let us know how you are doing. God bless you.

Leave a Reply

