Contrast Enema X-Ray Appointment

12 Oct

So that’s that appointment done & dusted!

It was nowhere near as bad as I was expecting it to be. They inserted a catheter into my stoma on the end of a fairly long tube and then I had a bag of clear fluid (the contrast) that they fed into my intestine slowly and watched it move through my intestine on the screen, which was really interesting to watch to be honest. They kept taking pictures and waiting for it to move along to the extent they needed it to go, which was quite a way through my small bowel. I didn’t even feel the catheter be inserted into my stoma to be honest, or much going on! The only little bit of pain I got was cramping near where they suspect my narrowing/partial obstruction to be, otherwise, it felt a bit cool and made my tummy rumbly like I was really hungry, it wasn’t uncomfortable at all.

Sporting the standard hospital fashion 😉

It took about 15 minutes all in all, and I was pleased with how I managed it and how easy it was. After they had got the pictures they needed, the tube was taken out and I waited for the contrast dye to make it’s way out, which took quite a few minutes to start, but they suspect that’s because of the narrowing I have in my bowel, most possibly caused by scar tissue. My stoma was surrounded by a plastic cover and long bag for the liquid to drain into which I just emptied down the toilet then took off about ten minutes after once there was a break in the liquid draining for me to quickly get one of my own bags on! 😀

Results basically seem that apart from a few centimetres behind my stoma, my small bowel looks healthy and how it should. Got to go for my follow-up next Friday, so we will see where that leads from there!

This afternoon, I am back at my University accommodation. I am a bit sore near where they suspect my narrowing and little bits of the liquid are still coming out. On painkillers and taking things easy. I think a chill-out night is in order!

Thanks for all your well wishes and lovely messages 🙂

10 Responses to “Contrast Enema X-Ray Appointment”

  1. mike sherlock October 12, 2012 at 6:01 pm #

    well done . had a similar thing done with my urostomy quite a few years ago , as you say don’t feel a thing when they insert the catheter. enjoy your chill night .xx

    • staceystoma October 12, 2012 at 6:34 pm #

      Thank you Mike! 🙂 x

  2. john ingamells October 12, 2012 at 9:00 pm #

    i bet you are pleased its over with and, like many procedures, not as bad as feared? good news it seems. You are right, its chill out time and make sure you are feeling right and over this procedure. Spoil yourself with a book or good movie, and take it as easy as possible!

    • staceystoma October 13, 2012 at 1:02 am #

      I am John. Nowhere near as bad as I feared! Thank you x

  3. sdempster October 12, 2012 at 10:20 pm #

    Well done my dear and I agree with John that you thoroughly deserve to kick back, relax and otherwise treat yourself to a nice quiet evening 😉

    • staceystoma October 13, 2012 at 1:02 am #

      Woo!! Thank you! 🙂 x

  4. Jane October 14, 2012 at 11:35 pm #

    I just wanted to say thank you so much for this blog. I have a temporary Stoma and have done for about 2 months now. Some days I cope fine and other days I find it quite difficult. I’ve tried not to look at things on the Internet as they can be depressing or worrying but you are so up beat, honest and straightforward. I think it’s great that you write this you have really helped me a couple of times when I have been worried. Thank you xx

    • staceystoma October 15, 2012 at 12:46 am #

      Hi Jane, no worries, I am so glad it is helping you, it’s what I write it for! 🙂
      If you want to, feel free to join the closed group, ‘My Bag I’ on Facebook. It’s for those with a stoma. Me and my friend Meg run it.
      xxx

Leave a Reply

