Race For Life 2012!

30 Jul

So yesterday, I completed the Race For Life 5k, woop! 😀

What an amazing feeling it was. To be raising money for such a major cause in society today was such an honour. It was fantastic to see how many people got together to raise money for Cancer Research. The atmosphere was really lively and encouraging and everybody seemed so up for raising as much money as they could.

I’ve wanted to do the Race For Life for a few years now. I lost my Grandad a few years back due to cancer and have known and know people in my life that have also sadly lost against, beaten or are fighting cancer.  This year, I was able to do it, which made me so happy. No matter how badly I have wanted to do it these past few years I haven’t been able.

I walked fast for the first half, then thought, “you know what? I can run the rest of the way, nothing will stop me!” & off I ran for the rest of it! It took me 40 minutes to complete the 5k which I am really proud of. The buzz I got from taking part and the amazing feeling when I crossed the finish life was just fantastic. To think back to this time last year and even a few years ago, and to be able to proud of what I achieved yesterday just means so much to me. I raised around £500 all in all, and sponsors are still coming in from many lovely people who have supported me. Thank you if you sponsored me, it means so much to many people.

We did it Stacey! 🙂 On to the Race For Life next year I reckon! I know Grandad would be very proud. I miss him so much & think of him every day ♥

Having a stoma does not take away your life, it gives you life and makes you able to take many amazing opportunities you would only have been able to dream of before. Embrace your life with a stoma.

Remember, ‘Ostomism not Pessimism™’, that’s the saying I made & live by! 🙂

Image

2 Responses to “Race For Life 2012!”

  1. sdempster July 30, 2012 at 11:18 pm #

    You go girl 🙂 I am so proud of you that I may actually explode.

Leave a Reply

