Volunteering & Supporting Others

24 Nov

I currently volunteer at a pre-school 1-2 mornings/days a week in town, which I love. Up until last week I have just been doing two mornings per week, however, I did my first full day last Monday from 08:45-5:00pm, needless to say it was very tiring! I spent most of last Tuesday sleeping and feeling very weak and a little under the weather really, but this was probably to be expected as it was my first day where I haven’t had any time to rest since my surgery, so I’m not used to it in the slightest! I really enjoy volunteering at pre-school, and it really makes me feel like I’m doing something worthwhile and giving a positive contribution to the community. I feel that as time goes on I will get used to having busy days but of course it is going to take quite a while taking one step at a time. My first full day taught me one thing though, and that is, that whilst I want to be up and about being busy and living life to the full each day, I am only just over 3 months after my operation, and I have to listen to what my body is telling me and know when to rest. I have to acknowledge that rest is what I need and I am still recovering, I have to find a balance really. So I will see how I get on the next times, then I will decide whether I stay for the morning or the full day. I have a feeling these next few weeks are going to be very testing physically and energy wise, I have a lot going on!
I also went to see a girl last Wednesday who is a bit older than me, who is in a very similar situation to what I was in before I had my surgery. She has had all medication options going and her gastro thinks its time for surgery. She is very scared, understandably, and going to see her and talking to her last night really brought everything back to me, specifically how I was before my operation and what a good quality of life I now have because of StaceyStoma. Obviously, I don’t want others to suffer, but I really enjoyed talking to her and showing her my bag and supplies etc and talking her through how to use an ileostomy bag. It is horrible to see others suffering, but I am afraid that’s life, and Crohn’s Disease affects a lot of people. I am just glad that I could help her, even if it was just a little bit. It makes all the suffering I had worthwhile, and helps me turn something negative into something positive. Her gastro, who is my gastro too!, has told her he will do all he can to save her bowel, but he thinks that it is very likely that she will need a permanent ileostomy forming in a few weeks time. I am really glad I can be there for her, and have told her that if she needs to ask me anything or is worried and needs a talk, or wants someone to go see her in hospital or out of hospital, I am there. I really benefitted from talking to a girl who already had an ileostomy whilst I was in hospital who is a cadet nurse. It was like Déjà vu with a lot of the things she said and we could both relate to each other in many ways. My operation has opened many doors for me, it is quite unbelievable. After I had been to see her last Wednesday, I came home then it was straight out again! What a busy day! I went to a classic car meeting with my Dad and a few of his friends at a pub about a twenty minute drive away, it was a good night. I enjoyed a Smirnoff Ice and an Orange and Passionfruit J2O and some crisps! And rolled in about 11pm. It was another very long day for me, I was shattered. Needless to say I slept most of the day last Thursday, but I’m just taking each day as it comes, and resting when I can!

4 Responses to “Volunteering & Supporting Others”

  1. Sara November 24, 2011 at 9:00 pm #

    I just wanted to say well done! Glad you’re also taking time out to rest every now and again. 🙂

    I had my stoma (Harvey) created in April, following two weeks of symptoms of Inflammatory Bowel Disease. Everything happened so quickly before my operation that I really didn’t have much of an idea what was going on, but afterwards I was in a ward with a gal (19) who was just having a reversal operation and I was *so* grateful to her for being there to answer my questions, reassure me that I’d eventually see my stoma as being something that saved and improved my life, and have a little laugh every now and again. I guess I just wanted to say that I, too, was very grateful to have someone like you and her there, so thank you for taking the initiative and volunteering to help.

    Do you mind my asking how you went about that? Did you just mention to the hospital that you’d like to help?

    Hope you’ve had a good, relaxing evening!

    • staceystoma December 1, 2011 at 9:36 pm #

      Thank you Sara!
      Aw thank you that’s lovely.
      I just mentioned it to my Gastroenterologist & Stoma Nurse 🙂

  2. Charita Hamai December 8, 2011 at 8:20 pm #

    I think this is one of the most vital info for me. And i’m glad reading your article. However want to commentary on few basic things, The website taste is wonderful, the articles is actually great : D. Good job, cheers

    • staceystoma December 14, 2011 at 7:10 pm #

      Hello there Charita. Thank you so much for your comments, I am glad you like my blog. 🙂

Leave a Reply

