Nightmares to do with my ileostomy

6 Nov

So today I’ve been feeling pretty rough, still got my cold, nose seems to be getting better then worse repeatedly, and it’s spread to my chest really bad. Got quite a bit of mucus on my chest it feels like and it just won’t shift. I can’t taste anything or smell, my voice keeps going weird, keep coughing and every time I breathe in and out its like my chest is whistling and all croaky at the same time 😦 Don’t know if I’m on my food or off my food, feel hungry but no matter what I eat it seems to make no difference.

Have slept most of the day and lately I have been having nightmares related to my ileostomy bag which I’ve woken up from feeling totally out of place and a bit sick and weirded out. After my operation I had nightmares in hospital, they were truly horrible. I would dream that I was standing in front of a mirror and all my intestines were hanging out my tummy and that I couldn’t stop being sick, then I woke up being sick in my sleep and in a panic, was truly horrid. One of the doctors said that what we dream is a lot to do with what is on our minds, she is right. I had a bit of a careless accident last night with my bag, which I believe caused the nightmares. I was in a rush and went to empty my bag into the toilet standing up and because there was a lot in the bag and the way I was aiming it I missed the toilet with most of it and got it everywhere, and ended up cleaning it up and bleaching everywhere. Luckily I had a blocked nose as I could smell it a little and it was vile, but I had a nightmare that I was getting it all over in the weirdest of places and having panic attacks and not knowing what to do. Once again, I woke up feeling really upset and sick.

Really want to feel better soon, all I want to do is cry! 😦

 

4 Responses to “Nightmares to do with my ileostomy”

  1. Charis November 6, 2011 at 10:44 pm #

    Hope you feel better soon! I haven’t had any nightmares about my ostomy, but I have dumped it on the floor by accident more than once!! Hang in there!

    • staceystoma November 7, 2011 at 1:05 am #

      Thank you! It’s so annoying isn’t it when it happens? I will! 🙂

  2. Laura November 24, 2011 at 12:08 pm #

    Hi 🙂 Ive been reading your blog for a few weeks now, its very good keep up the good work. I’m over on http://ucitssolongcolon.blogspot.com/. I have nightmares and trouble sleeping so I can relate to you, its a massive ordeal to go through and I think it takes longer to heal emotionally than physically. I hope you are now managing to sleep nightmare free. You are doing so well, you may have even inspired me to take the courage and show the world my stoma Roo!! 🙂 Take care x

    • staceystoma November 24, 2011 at 4:26 pm #

      Hi Laura 🙂 thank you for your comment! I will definitely check out your blog! I haven’t had as many nightmares as of late, just the odd one, but managed to spill my bag again today all over the toilet as it was so full when I woke up and gushed everywhere over the toilet 😦 thank you for your lovely comment! Stacey says “hi” to Roo! Love the name!

Leave a Reply

