Yay for Coloplast!

13 Oct

So I went to see my Stoma Nurse again this Tuesday just gone, my oh my she makes me life a million times easier, without her I wouldn’t be here, fact. The fact that she dedicates so much time to make my life easier and help me through my ileostomy journey is amazing. Even just by sitting and talking to her about my worries I feel tons better.

She suggested me trying some other bags and also trying a two-piece system to try and correct the sticking issues and wind/output issues on a night. At the moment I am wearing the Coloplast One-Piece Drainable Assura Ileostomy bag and so far, no sticking issues! YAY! Had it on from about 13:45 yesterday afternoon after my shower, and here I am nearly 24 hours later with it still very well intact, no adhesive peeling away from the skin or anything! Fingers crossed this carries on over the next few days of using the same make and same bags. Also, on another positive note, I had a great night’s sleep, without having to empty wind out the bag or empty the bag until 5:30am this morning then sleeping through another 5 hours without any problems. These bags seem a lot better at filtering wind and even though there was a little wind in it this morning after I woke up, it was not a problem at all unlike the ballooning before, I didn’t notice it until I was about to empty it on the toilet just after midday today. This makes me feel SO much better about things 🙂 Really hope it stays that way! I also find the velcro side tabs make me feel a lot more secure and the fact that there is a little gap that you can lift in the fabric to check your stoma. Also, I love the fact that you can fold the tail up so it isn’t visible and also fold the bag and tuck it in half when the output is little.

There’s the bag on the right above 🙂

Also, got prescribed some Immodium Melts to help with the output as it has been really watery and my GP said that the tablets that you melt on the tongue will be a lot more absorbed than the capsules so am trying some of those. Got to measure the watery output I’m having just to check it’s not overly crazy and take it from there!

Hope everyone is doing good 🙂

4 Responses to “Yay for Coloplast!”

  1. kjoy1020 October 13, 2011 at 2:35 pm #

    Thanks for shedding some light on ileostomy. I feel for you! Keep hopeful and keep us posted on how you’re doing!

    • staceystoma October 13, 2011 at 6:06 pm #

      Thank you Kristen! 🙂 I will keep my blog regularly updated so you all know how I’m doing as I recover x

  2. Amber October 16, 2011 at 8:51 am #

    I have just been told after a particularly bad flare up that I need surgery probably within the next six weeks…they will be giving me an ileostomy too most likely. I was sad and scared until I stumbled across you! You’ve made me feel so positive about it all, thank you so so much! I have a wonderful husband and 2 gorgeous sets of twins to get better for and you’ve completly changed my outlook 🙂 will be on here all the time now lol xx

    • staceystoma October 16, 2011 at 3:32 pm #

      Hi Amber! So glad you have found my blog useful, if I’ve helped you even just a little bit I’m happy 🙂 Feel free to ask away with any questions you may have or discuss your feelings about surgery etc at any time with me. Do you have Facebook?

Leave a Reply

