2 months yesterday since surgery.

10 Oct

& we made it Stacey! 🙂

It has been more tough to adjust these past few weeks & I have found that problems have started to occur as I start to get back to somewhat like normal. It has been a real rollercoaster and I have become quite depressed in some ways, although I am extremely grateful to have had the operation and had my stoma formed as it saved my life 🙂 That fact will never ever change that I am grateful for my stoma giving me a life, but at the same time nobody said it would be easy, it is far from easy. So long as you have the right support and someone you can talk to who will listen and you can trust, the whole process is A LOT easier mind 🙂 It feels easier when you also have someone you can empathise with, which is why I ensure I speak to people who have a stoma of all different ages and from different backgrounds 🙂

One thing that has become apparent to me is that as I have started to get back to “normal” (or as normal as is normal for me :p) a lot of people take the attitude that just because I look better on the outside, I must be better inside. No, I am not recovered inside, it is just the start, and I am far from recovered emotionally and physically, I think some people can be very naive and almost arrogant. The operation changed my life for the better, no doubt, but people must also remember that it has been a huge change for me emotionally as well, and that in itself as well as physically, will take me a lot of time to fully adapt. I accept it, don’t get me wrong, I do not resent my stoma (Stacey :p) at all, but it is a long journey to get to the point where she is fully second nature to me and fully established in my daily routine. She is part of me & I am so thankful for that, but time is a healer as they say.

Hope everybody is well 🙂

I’m seeing my Stoma Nurse tomorrow again, so I will tell her that I am struggling, I spoke to her briefly on the phone and she is aware I am. I have done so well so far, so I will not let the fact that I am going through a down patch make me not feel proud of myself for what I have achieved so far. After all, it is a major thing and it isn’t all plain sailing.

Ta ta for now 😀

Leave a Reply

