Trio Diamonds Update…

7 Oct

Hi everyone,

So I tried one of the Trio Diamonds sachets and I feel it helped a little with wind, nothing major, although it did help with the odour. I can only make my judgement on the one sachet I tried though, it puts black flecks that look like lumpy bits of mashed up charcoal into your waste and it kinda made me feel a little uneasy emptying the bag and seeing all these, not knowing how my stoma output consistency had been as the Diamonds make the waste into a gel. The gel however did mean that it was easier to empty, I just found it a little odd seeing all those lumps in my waste, it put me a bit on edge as it was a little weird. I think I’ll give the Diamonds another try one day, as I can’t just judge them from one try as a product on the whole 🙂

Still having problems with wind on a night, but I’ve noticed that if I don’t eat as much after tea it isn’t as bad, and I also have started to set an alarm some nights to empty my bag half way through the night, especially if I have eaten a late tea or quite a bit in the evening. Having a stoma is of course taking a lot of getting used to, but I am way more into a routine now than I used to be and changing the bag is a lot quicker. I also shower with my bag off now before I put a new one on, as I find this helps not waste my supplies of dry wipes etc and shortens my time changing my bag and find this works a lot better for me 🙂

Have also started to do some voluntary work back at a pre-school I was at on college placement to get me back into the swing of things and it’s going really well, I do 2 mornings a week, but those 2 mornings tire me out at present as much as I enjoy it! 🙂 I am really glad to be back there and feel a real sense of achievement 🙂 The recovery process is going well on the whole and it is a case of two steps forward one step back some of the time, but I wouldn’t have not had my surgery, I am glad I have it.

As I’m getting more back to normal, I find that I have issues with my body confidence and self-esteem, especially with intimacy, but my boyfriend is extremely supportive and reassuring. I’m putting on weight gradually which I am so pleased about as I am so fed up of seeing such a skinny figure staring back at me in the mirror! 😀 There are many positives that my stoma has given me such as giving me my life for a start! But of course, there are negatives, it will take months, maybe even years, to get fully used to, but it is part of me now and I am embracing that. The positives definitely out-weigh the negatives! 🙂

4 Responses to “Trio Diamonds Update…”

  1. VeganOstomy October 19, 2013 at 10:08 pm #

    Hey, did you ever solve your “ballooning” problem? Did you continue to use the Diamonds product? I wake up every morning with a bag ready to explode of gas and I’m looking for a reasonable solution – my filters don’t work, so they get a sticker put on them when I change my appliance.

    • staceystoma November 16, 2013 at 1:30 am #

      Hey, a lot of it depends on what I eat and how much I eat soon before bed but still get it every morning

      • VeganOstomy November 16, 2013 at 2:47 am #

        I’m going to try the Osto ez-vent product to help vent gas out of the bag. Have you heard of or tried them?

      • staceystoma November 16, 2013 at 9:42 pm #

        No I don’t really feel the need is desperate enough or bothers me enough to at the moment, but thanks for the suggestion.

Leave a Reply

