09/09/2011

9 Sep

= 1 month since my operation! = 1 month with Stacey ūüôā

I appreciate Stacey more each day as I accomplish even the littlest things that I couldn’t do before with Crohn’s Colitis. I’m not going to sugar coat it for anyone and say that it’s been an easy month because it hasn’t, it has been the hardest month of my life by far and¬†there’s been¬†a lot to get my head around,¬†but things have got easier day by day after the first 3 or 4 days after my operation and the amazing support I’ve had around me has made me where I am now; the Prof whose care I am under,¬†the team of bowel & colorectal¬†surgeons who carried out my operation, the 2 lovely stoma nurses who have been with me since the start of my ileostomy journey months before surgery was carried out and 1 of which I am under the care of now still, she is absolutely fantastic & one of the most lovely people I have had the pleasure of meeting :), the¬†theatre¬†and porter staff¬†who kept me smiling whilst I was waiting for my operation and came to see me 4/5 days after the op to see how I was, the anaethetists, the doctors and¬†3¬†nurses on the ward¬†in particular, the student nurses who were really good to me on the ward, the inspirational people I met in hospital and the people I’ve stayed in touch with since I’ve come home and the ladies who brought me my cup of teas! Most of all, my¬†amazing Mum & Dad, my fantastic brother &¬†our 2 doggies, the few true friends who have come to visit me or/and kept in touch and genuinely showed they care & the inspirational “ostomates” I have made ūüôā Support has led to my strength which has enabled me to be positive and stay positive. Of course, I have my down times, it’s natural, yet I always tell myself when I am down that I have it way better now than I can ever remember in my life. I have my life, that is the biggest gift, and it’s all down to the surgeons for saving my life and getting rid of my colon that had had it in for me for so many years and was determined to destroy me. It was taken out just in time and for that I am forever grateful, so so lucky.

My life with Stacey as part of me has already become something which I embrace & the changes I’ve had to make to my day to empty my bag etc have pretty much become a routine now¬†to the point where I don’t even really think about it, I’m on auto-pilot.

WELL DONE @ 1 MONTH¬†STACEY ūüėÄ Here’s to many more accomplishments!

One Response to “09/09/2011”

  1. sweetcomice September 10, 2011 at 5:07 am #

    Hi Amy
    just checking in with you. Gratitude is a powerful feeling and certainly
    gets me through many days. I say the serenity prayer a lot.
    “god (or who ever god is to you) grant me the serenity to accept the
    things I cannot change, the courage to change the things I can, and
    the wisdom to know the difference.”
    thanks for the picture. I have you in mind more firmly.
    I have a little question for you…..the colon takes up a lot of space
    doesn’t it? What happens to that space now? I am just trying to wrap
    my mind around that!(:
    Georgia

Leave a Reply

