Just over 3 weeks post-surgery

31 Aug

3 weeks after surgery it was yesterday, and I’m feeling gradually stronger both physically and mentally. I have my down days but as I was told by one of my great osto-mates, the recovery process is very much 2 steps forward and 1 step back. It’s a huge learning curve learning to live with a permanent ileostomy or temporary ileostomy, it’s such a huge change so it’s natural to experience a few hiccups along the way as I have done. I had an issue at the weekend where I was quite poorly and didn’t feel 100% for a few days due to either over-eating, mixing the wrong foods or something not agreeing with me I think and keep having issues getting the consistency of my stoma output to be how it should be. I just keep reminding myself to take it steady and that I’m only 3 weeks post-op! Otherwise I get really disheartened and become an emotional wreck and stress myself out which in turn makes me ill in the stomach. So I’m trying not to worry. Staying positive and taking each day as it comes 🙂

Keep getting the ‘phantom rectum’ thing which is getting annoying, but hopefully it’ll settle down as time goes by.

Hope everyone is taking care and doing okay 🙂

Leave a Reply

