Your bag and the beach!

27 Aug

I was on some ileostomy forums today &, each to their own and I don’t mean to offend, so please don’t take my post the wrong way, but people were talking about how they could best cover up their scars and their stoma bag when at the beach…My question: Why?!

I can understand that pretty much nobody is 100% happy with their body. I’m not 100% happy with mine, but I embrace it for what it is, especially my 6-inch belly scar and stoma and stoma bag. It’s not something to be ashamed of at all, it’s our ‘battle scars’/’victory scars’/whatever you wish to call them! They show what we have gone through and show our courage and determination! šŸ™‚ show them off, that doesn’t mean hold your
t-shirt up and go parading about deliberately drawing attention of course, but in fact even if you had your belly on show with a shorter t-shirt so what! Nothing to be ashamed of in the slightest šŸ™‚

I can also understand that women may be reluctant to wear bikinis (or men if that’s your thing!) because of fear of people passing negative comments. My answer to that: they’re naive, ungrateful, ignorant and don’t even deserve your time of day! You’re above them! Smile and show them you are proud of your body! šŸ™‚

Every body will have something on their body they aren’t keen on, for example, a bit of belly fat or they might feel too skinny, they might not like their thighs or their chest or their hips or whatever, but we are all individuals and nobody is perfect, even people who live off plastic surgery when it’s not needed to try and perfect themselves.

Love and look after your body & embrace it for what it is šŸ™‚ Do not be afraid of people seeing your ostomy scar/s and bag šŸ™‚ It’s something to be so proud of, and be proud of yourself! Remember, your ostomy gave you your quality of life, it freed you of horrendous pain, took away your nearly constant sickness, gave you your appetite, freed up your time instead of you being creased over the toilet in agony with diarrhoea or constipation and made you into the strong person you are today! šŸ™‚

Be proud ostomates, I sure am of myself & Stacey my life-saver šŸ™‚

Take care everyone & enjoy your bank holiday weekend šŸ™‚ šŸ˜€

4 Responses to “Your bag and the beach!”

  1. sweetcomice August 28, 2011 at 4:29 pm #

    Hi Amy
    You are my inspiration today….

    could you look on your dashboard under your widgets and put a subscribe button on your home page that we, all of us that are reading you, can click on so we get a notice that you have a new post?
    and if it is ok with you I am going to add you to my blog roll.
    I will be thinking of you out there under the sun. Get that vitamin D!
    Georgia

  2. staceystoma August 29, 2011 at 2:49 pm #

    I’ve added a subscribe button to my blog šŸ™‚

  3. Georgina Barker August 29, 2011 at 7:52 pm #

    I agree with everything you’ve said. I not ashamed of my body, I learned to love my new body after having my son, and now even more post op, and with the bag. It makes me feel secure and I love it. šŸ˜‰

    I’ve decided call mine Ruby. XX šŸ˜‰

    Georgina Barker

  4. Donna Mear August 29, 2011 at 8:30 pm #

    totally agree with you xxxxx

Leave a Reply

