Alcohol, Nights Out & My Ileostomy

13 Nov

I went into town last night to meet my best friend and her boyfriend for a few drinks and have a good catch up! Was a really good night, filled with lots of laughs and yummy drinks! I’ve had a few nights out since my operation from about 2 months and a few weeks since my operation, but the first time I went out I stayed out for about an hour and didn’t drink any alcohol, as it was really tiring and my scars started to hurt on my tummy and bum!

Then the past few times I’ve been out (just before 3 months and just over 3 months), I have stayed out until around midnight, much improvement on the first time! :)

With alcohol, from my own experience so far and from talking to people with ostomies (especially colo and ileo) I have found that alcohol and fizzy drinks affect one person different to another, just like food and drink with Inflammatory Bowel Disease, and that everybody’s stoma is different with it. Some people can’t manage drinking really fizzy drinks especially fizzy alcohol like beer as they find it gives them painful wind or doesn’t agree, where as others can manage it no problem. I’m the same with fizzy drinks – Coca Cola I can’t really manage at present after surgery without it making me feel really windy and uncomfortable, yet I can manage Pepsi in smaller doses no problem such as a can with food. Alcohol wise, I tried Malibu & Coke, which didn’t agree to be honest, on two occasions. It made Stacey wriggle quite a lot and feel very uncomfortable a short while after. I have also had Smirnoff Ice, Red WKD and a tried a “Cheeky V” cocktail (Blue WKD and Port) and have had no problem with these so far apart from they make my output watery, as is the case with alcohol and most ostomates from those I have spoken to and what I have researched. I took some Loperamide before I went out last night and this really helped once the alcohol started coming through nearer to coming home quite frequently, I think Stacey really enjoyed the “Cheeky V” and Red WKD she wanted to taste it as quick as she could after I had drunk it….either that or she despised it and wanted rid! Haha!

Amount wise, same again, some ostomates can manage quite a bit to drink whereas others cannot manage a lot at all (like me! :D). It again depends on the individual and their circumstances before and after their surgery. I cannot drink a lot compared to some people I go out with, yet I can manage a lot for me if I compare it to before my surgery when I couldn’t even manage a few sips before getting an upset stomach and regretting it for days with my Crohn’s Disease. Considering I’m just over 3 months post-surgery, I think I’m doing really well to be able to drink 3/4 small bottles of mixed vodka drinks atm with some J2O drinks or squash a few times in the night too. I’m a lightweight, but it is funny and I enjoy being giggly and having a great night out, yet I can still remain in control of myself, and more in control in the sense that I don’t have to be running off to the toilet every 5 minutes or sat hunched over with stomach ache! :)

Hope everyone is doing well and have a great week!

I’m volunteering at Pre-School ALL DAY tomorrow, so that’ll be very tiring and interesting, but will let you all know how it goes! :)

9 Responses to “Alcohol, Nights Out & My Ileostomy”

  1. smirnoff calories December 1, 2011 at 11:55 am #

    Hiya very nice website!! Guy .. Excellent .. Amazing .. I’ll bookmark your web site and take the feeds additionally?I’m glad to find numerous helpful info right here in the post, we need develop extra techniques on this regard, thanks for sharing. . . . . .

  2. Windows Software Utilities December 7, 2011 at 12:39 pm #

    Wonderful post. I learn new stuff on different blogs everyday. It is always stimulating to see content from other writers and learn a little something from their site. Let me apply certain of their content on my blog holistic acne mind. Natually Ill present you with a link to a site. Thanks sharing.

    • staceystoma December 14, 2011 at 7:09 pm #

      Thank you so much for your comment. :)

  3. financial management December 8, 2011 at 3:47 am #

    hey your blog design is very nice, clean and fresh and with updated content, make people feel peace and I always like browsing your site.

    • staceystoma December 14, 2011 at 7:10 pm #

      Hey there, thank you! :) That is a really nice thing to say, I am glad you enjoy browsing my blog.

  4. Ross August 10, 2012 at 12:17 pm #

    Hey! Great blog, it’s good too see that people are not hiding away the fact that they have a stoma, although I a struggling to come to terms with it myself, 3 months after my surgery (I guess it takes time though right?). I went for a drink with mates last night however and drunk quite a lot but the alcohol seemed to have no affect on me at all and didn’t even feel slightly drunk after 5 pints of cider, several shots and like 10 WKDs which I take is a bit strange. It didn’t really affect my output or anything though. As you have done research and stuff into this, have you come across anything like this before?

    • staceystoma August 10, 2012 at 1:57 pm #

      Hi Ross, thank you! :)
      I’m always here for you to talk to, don’t hesitate. Everything takes time, and everybody has different timescales, it is normal. Some people take months, others years, and some people never fully accept it. But you work with what you’re given right?
      With alcohol, there isn’t really a pattern for me apart from after a few drinks, it passes quite quickly! Cocktails can upset my stoma quite a bit and stomach, so I try to stick to one drink without mixing at the moment and play it safe usually.
      Some people with a stoma that I know have extremely high alcohol tolerance and find it takes a lot to get them drunk as it passes quite quickly, where as others find they can’t drink as much. It all depends on the individual really and on things such as what you have eaten in the day, your hydration levels etc, body size, fitness levels etc. Hope this answers your question a little!
      A lot of it is trial and error with a stoma, I am still finding many things out after a year and sometimes, I can’t find a general rule for some things.

  5. Clarissa parizek October 13, 2013 at 2:04 pm #

    I would love to have a sip of coke, but it is one month today after op

    • staceystoma November 16, 2013 at 1:32 am #

      I would have a word with your stoma nurse/doctor about what they advise, it’s different for everyone :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 150 other followers

